Baseball: A Love Story

ON THE MOUND

never could resist a screwball

the guy before me gets it
when it’s my turn I pray
just let me touch it once Dear God
I’ll be good for the rest of my life

I never saw the pitch
one leg high above the left shoulder turning
thrusting a foot full of blades shining sunstreaks across my glasses
strike three
sit down

the worst part when the next five guys get on just like that
but I’ll be up next inning
been playing this game long enough to know
how those young pitchers tire eventually

— Robert E. Brown
The Altadena Review
Summer 1978

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

